JEREMY SCAHILL wins Izzy Award for 2009.

JEREMY SCAHILL wins Izzy Award for 2009.
Ceremony at Ithaca College April 19, 2010.

The Izzy Award is named after maverick journalist I. F. Stone, who launched I. F. Stone’s Weekly in 1953 and exposed government deception, McCarthyism, and racial bigotry. Presented annually for “special achievement in independent media,” the Izzy Award goes to an independent outlet, journalist, or producer for contributions to our culture, politics, or journalism created outside traditional corporate structures. The judges are communications professor and author Robert W. McChesney; Linda Jue, director and executive editor at the G.W. Williams Center for Independent Journalism; and Jeff Cohen, director of the Park Center for Independent Media at Ithaca College.

For more information on Izzy Stone, see Jeff Cohen’s column or the official website or a June ‘09 Democracy Now! program devoted to his life.

The inaugural Izzy Award for 2008 was presented to blogger GLENN GREENWALD and Democracy Now! host and executive producer AMY GOODMAN.