Public Reading of “Wallace in Underland”


Charles Ray's Ramblings

It’s great when your work gets read in public. In November, Zimbabwean novelist Virginia Phiri read my urban fantasy Wallace in Underland to students at one of Zimbabwe’s secondary schools.  I’ll let her describe the event in her own words”

Every writer wants his or her books to be read, and hopefully enjoyed.  One of the ways of getting your work noticed is through public readings.  In November, I had that experience vicariously when Zimbabwean novelist Virginia Phiri read my book Wallace in Underland at one of Zimbabwe’s secondary schools.  Virginia, one of Zimbabwe’s most prominent writers, had previously read and reviewed the book, and when she was invited to do a reading at the school, asked if she could read my book.  Well, of course, I said YES.

I’ll let Virginia’s own words describe the event:

I have just come back from a successful Masiyephambili Junior School Readings. The…

View original post 122 more words