In the wake of Sandy Hook,Political Posturing by Religious Right Unhelpful


Charles Ray's Ramblings

Commenting on tragedy is something that is hard to do in the immediate aftermath.  For that reason, I have avoided comment on the horrific tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary School, in which a deranged gunman took the lives of 20 students and 6 adults.  I have, however, followed the comments by others – and, some of the comments that have flooded cyberspace have left me shaking my head in dismay.

Anyone who might wonder about my position on religion and politics; I try to steer clear of the former and have a strong feeling of disgust for the latter; has but to read some of the commentary to know why.  The puerile political posturing by some former politicians, like former Arkansas governor Mike Huckabee, who blames the shooting on a combination of lack of prayer in classrooms, homosexuals, and contraception are too dumb to even attempt a response to. …

View original post 514 more words