On the road


I like doing candid photos of people going about their daily lives, unaware of the camera. If you’re on foot, though, that’s often hard to achieve, so I usually shoot from a vehicle as I travel. When I was in Zimbabwe, with a driver at my disposal, this was easy to do. During my three years in southern Africa, I documented a lot of the ‘life along the roadways.’ Zimbabwe under Robert Mugabe’s ZANU-PF party is one of southern Africa’s poorest countries, but has a higher per capita number of luxury cars than the richest countries of Europe, saying something about the degree of official corruption. Members of the African Apostolic Church on the way to services. Everything with wheels becomes a form of public transportation. On the open road. Schoolboys in Arusha, Tanzania. Passengers at Nairobi’s airport. An abandoned factory in Zimbabwe.

Source: On the road

